AFCON 2021 Qualifiers : Gyan, John Antwi miss out as ”Mayele” names squad for S.A, São Tomé assignments.

0 110

NorthEast United and Ghana’s all time top scorer Asamoah Gyan and Pyramids F.C striker John Antwi have been snubbed by Black Stars coach Kwasi Appiah in call ups for next months AFCON 2021 Qualifiers.

Ghana will play South Africa and São Tomé in a double header next month in the AFCON 2021 Qualifiers and for that, coach Kwasi Appiah has invited 23 players for the assignments.

Notable Absentees.

Conspicuously missing from the squad, are general captain Asamoah Gyan who rescinded his decision to retire from international football over the captaincy row. Also missing from the squad is Pyramids F.C striker John Antwi. John Antwi who holds the record, as the highest scoring non-Egyptian in the Egyptian Premier League with 80 goals, has scored 3 goals in 4 games in this season’s CAF Confederation Cup, appears not to have done enough to win the admiration of Kwasi Appiah.

John Antwi continues firing in Egypt but cant seem to get into Kwasi Appiah’s team. 

Internazionale Milan midfielder Kwadwo Asamoah who has featured regularly in table topping Internazionale Milan’s chase for the title was also omitted, as was Metz centre back John Boye. Newcastle United winger Christian Atsu however misses out due to an injury.


Kwasi Appiah however handed debut call ups to ex Hearts of Oak winger Torriz Djibril, Ashantigold’s Shafiu Mumuni, Razak Abalora, Kudus Mohammed, La Liga duo of Iddrisu Baba and Mohammed Salisu and Christopher Antwi Agyei.

Regular Faces.

Harrison a return to the team after missing out on the AFCON 2019. Captain Andre Ayew, Mubarak Wakasu and the excellent Thomas Partey have all been included in an otherwise strong team.

The Black Stars will face South Africa’s Bafana Bafana on Thursday 14th November 2019 at the Cape Coast Stadium, before traveling to play São Tomé and Príncipe on Monday 18th November.

The Black Stars will have to beat off competition from South Africa, São Tomé and Príncipe, and Sudan to qualify from Group C for the tournament in Cameroon in 2021.

Full Squad. 

GOALKEEPERS: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg FC, South Africa), Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Razak Abalora (Azam FC, Tanzania).

DEFENDERS: Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA), Lumor Agbenyenu (Real Mallorca, Spain), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo, Spain), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo, Spain), Kassim Nuhu (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Nicholas Opoku (Udinese, Italy), Mohammed Salisu (Real Valladolid, Spain)

MIDFIELDERS: Samuel Owusu (Al Fahya, Saudi Arabia), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Alfred Duncan (Sassuolo, Italy), Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Iddrisu Baba (Real Mallorca, Spain), Christopher Antwi-Adjei (SC Paderborn, Germany).

FORWARD: Andre Ayew (Swansea, England), Mohammed Kudus (FC Nordsjaelland, Denmark), Emmanuel Boateng (Dalian Yifang, China), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Torric Jibril (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Shafiu Mumuni (Ashantigold).

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.