13 Health Centers earmarked for COVID 19 treatment in Western Region

0 84

The Western Region Health Directorate has identified thirteen (13) health facilities, where patients of the novel coronavirus (COVID 19), will be treated. Per the arrangement with the Heath Directorate, and within protocols of the Ministry of Health, each of the 13 health facilities in the region, have designated a treatment center to manage the disease.

The treatment centers are located in the following hospitals; Effia Nkwanta Regional Hospital, Takoradi hospital, Kwesimintsim hospital, Tarkwa Municipal hospital, Apinto Hospital, Axim District hospital, Half Assini District hospital, Nana Dekyi District hospital (Dixcove), Wassa Akropong District hospital, Ahmadiyya Hospital (Daboase), Prestea hospital, Father Alan Rooney Memorial hospital (Asankrangwa), and Eikwe hospital (Ellembele).

As at yesterday (Tuesday, 7 April, 2020), the Regional Medical Store had in stock; 108 coveralls, 500 examination gloves, 18 N95 respirators, 450 nose masks, and 1 gum boot.

The Regional Health Directorate has however, since the outbreak of the disease delivered sufficient Personal Protective Equipment to all health centers in the region.

Suspected Cases rocketing
Update [as at Wednesday 8 April, 2020] from the Regional Surveillance indicates that suspected cases of COVID 19 have shot up to 57. In all, 71 samples have been taken by the Regional Surveillance team, with forty-six (46) being tested. All 46 samples tested negative for COVIDD 19.
The remaining 25, are pending. It is important to note that the region has not recorded any positive case of COVID 19.

A total of 89 travellers are currently observing a mandatory/self quarantine, 85 of which are from the Mpohor District.
These cases are reported from 10 districts in the region.

Below is a chart, reporting on suspected cases in the Western Region.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.